NoticeBard | Home

National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme for Classes IX to XII [Rs. 6000/Year]: Apply by Oct 31

The objective of the National Means-cum-Merit Scholarship Scheme is to award scholarships to meritorious students of economically weaker sections to arrest their drop out at class VIII and encourage them to continue the study at secondary stage.

Scholarship amount and number

One lakh scholarships @ Rs.6000/- per annum (Rs.500/- per month) are awarded to selected students of class IX every year and their continuation/renewal in classes X to XII for study in State Government, Government-aided and Local body schools under the scheme.


Students whose parental income from all sources is not more than Rs 1,50,000/- per annum are eligible to avail the scholarships.

The selection of students for award of scholarships under the scheme is made
through an examination conducted by the State Governments.

The students shall have minimum of 55% marks or equivalent grade in Class VII examination for appearing in selection test for award of scholarship (Relaxable by 5% for SC/ST).

At the time of selection for the award of scholarship the candidate must have scored at least 55% marks or equivalent grade in Class VIII examination. There will be 5 % relaxation for SC/ST.

For continuing the scholarship in class X and XII, the awardees should get clear promotion from class IX to class X and from class XI to class XII in the first attempt with 55% marks (relaxable by 5% for SC/ST). The awardees must obtain a minimum of 60% marks in Class X (relaxable by 5% for SC/ST) examination or equivalent examination for continuation of
the scholarship at higher secondary stage.

Students of NVS, KVS, Sainik schools and private schools are not entitled for
the scholarships.

Scholarship Eligibility Test

The State Level Examination consists of the following two tests.
(i) Mental Ability Test (MAT)
(ii) Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)

The students must pass both the tests i.e. MAT and SAT with at least 40% marks in each. For the reserved category, this cut off will be 32% marks.

How to apply

Register and apply online at this page.

Students of Class IX and X need to apply under Pre-Matric scholarship category whereas students of class XI and XII need to apply under Post-Matric scholarship category.

For full details and FAQs, click here



Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *